A Glimmer of Hope

So the last cycle came to an end. After visiting the doctor I had excruciating pain for the afternoon and the bleeding got heavier, I continued to take my temperatures. On the Friday, my temp took a nose dive and I just knew this wasn’t a good sign. I took a test and got a negative.

MCnegtest Although it was disappointing, I feel like I almost expected it so I haven’t taken it as hard as I thought I would. I was already bleeding when I got the first positive test so I didn’t get attached, so it was a lot easier when I got what I expected to get. I have been able to move on from this to get myself back in the right frame of mind to start again for the next cycle.

I visited my Doctor again who was great, she asked my how I felt and how I was after the miscarriage and confirmed what I already knew in it being very common. She did say that although she didn’t want to get my hopes up that the body does recover quickly and that it is also common to fall pregnant the month after miscarriage. I’m being realistic though, it may not happen; if it doesn’t happen she has confirmed we will be referred to our local fertility clinic, as it has now been 6 months and I am 38 this will get the ball rolling on the tests.

RLtes

This in turn has me less stressed knowing that there will be action taken, it’s a step forward.

I purchased a new thermometer and a job lot of new strip tests, the clear blue duel hormone, drinking raspberry leaf tea and I’ve been doing the castor oil pack again too.

I’ll do a separate blog about the Castor oil pack to explain what it is and link it in.

 

I’ve had very good results from all my tests, this has been the most clear cut positive cycle yet for ovulation as previous cycles have had a dotted red line with tentative data.

The OneStep thermometer is more accurate, it takes a little longer but I trust the result more. The tests are also OneStep and they are spot on, the Clear Blue duel hormone, I only used 5 tests. I did find it easier using the strip tests along side the Clear Blue as it means you’re less likely to waste tests. I used CB in the morning and the strip in the afternoon, when I got my first positive on strip I used another CB and voila! Static Smiley and a victory dance from me!

I’ve also been tracking vaginal temperatures with my other thermometer, it has been interesting comparing the two charts.

Although the figures are very different, you can see the trend is very much the same. You can see above I am a little further along in my cycle than the photos above as I have not been able to finish my blog the same day and I didn’t want to rush it.

Since then I have had a few symptoms although I am trying not to over think anything. The one symptom I could’t ignore was spotting on 5DPO/CD21 and 6DPO/CD22; it was very light brown with a few clumps, like it was a little bit mixed with creamy CM. Initially it marked my pants but after that it was just when I wiped and today (7DPO) there is nothing. I know this may or may not be implantation bleeding, it could just be from ovulation, although this has never to my recollection happened before at this stage. Other symptoms have included heartburn, no stranger to me; also tender breasts, particularly my left one for some reason although it is both, are feeling tender now which for me is a bit early.

The Fertility Friend app is great for comparing temps and symptoms with previous cycles and I’ve already see a difference with this cycle.

This cycle is orange and last month is blue, I can see my temp today is already higher than it has been of all the cycles, I’m getting tender breasts earlier than normal and heartburn doesn’t really show a trend, for my that can be a lot to do with what I’ve eaten. I also struggled a lot with hayfever and I’ve not had any confirmation from the Doctor if I can take any antihistamines yet. Either way I’ll be seeing her again in a few weeks so will ask her then.

I’ve drank the tea up to ovulation and now I’m eating pineapple as there are reports to suggest that it assists with implantation.

PineapplePineapple contains the enzyme bromelain, which is well known for it’s powerful anti-inflammatory properties. As well as being able to alleviate pain and swelling in inflammatory related conditions such as arthritis, bromelain can also reduce inflammation in the uterus.

Pineapple can also increase the quantity and quality of cervical mucus. Cervical mucous is the slippery, stretchy substance that keeps sperm nourished and mobile on their journey to the egg during your most fertile time of the month.

Although, I’ve been eating it after ovulation it certainly can’t do any harm.

Overall things are looking positive although anything could happen in the next 7 days. My test day is next Monday which I am going to wait until then and until then I’ll be thinking positive.

2 thoughts on “A Glimmer of Hope

  1. I really applaud your positive tone and hope that it is a true reflection of your feelings. It’s such a challenging time as well as the emotions we have the hormones taking us for a ride to. I have everything crossed for you and know that all of these challenges are standing you in a very positive place to cope with all that lays ahead. Good luck. 🤞🏻❤️🌈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

